Research Network for Metals in Medicine



The Proposed network will consists of more than 120 research groups and partners (see network members), which involve over 230 individual researchers (including postdoctoral fellows and research students) and a total of 142 current major grants (mainly ARC and NH&MRC). It involves two Federation Fellows and three ARC Australian Professorial Fellows as well as two NHMRC Principal Research Fellows and it covers representatives from universities, government research institutions, medical research institutions and hospitals, and industry.

Network Administration and Research Program Administration
The proposed Network will be administered from The University of Sydney by the Network Convenor, Professor Peter Lay with part-time assistance of an administrative officer. Local activities will be administered by regional coordinators.

The research programs and distribution of Network Funding will be organised by the National Committee involving the regional coordinators and representatives from Federal Government Research Institutions, Medical Research Institutions, and Industry. This Committee will meet annually (associated with a National Meeting) to set policies, and a sub-committee will meet quarterly by remote access to assess applications from network members for exchange programs and access to facilities. Preference for funding to these programs will be to early career researchers and research students.

Early-Career Researchers Committee
A Committee will be established to promote activities, identify problems for early-career researchers and suggest solutions to these problems. This Committee will provide direct input into funding of programs and will also be active in establishing local activities and promoting the field to students.

International Advisory Committee
The Network also has an international advisory panel. Professor Peter Sadler (Edinburgh) will coordinate interactions with the current EU Cost action D20 program "Metal Compounds in the Treatment of Cancer and Viral Diseases" (2001-2005), which involves participants from Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Israel, Italy, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Romania, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine and the United Kingdom. Professor Nick Farrell, who chaired the first Metals in Medicine Gordon Conference in the USA, and Professor Chris Orvig (British Columbia), who will chair the next meeting, will coordinate interactions with USA and Canadian researchers, respectively. Professor William Denny, Director, Auckland Cancer Society Research Centre will coordinate collaborations with New Zealand researchers.

Where appropriate, remote teleconferencing will use the MNRF NANO facilities.